The Music of Hans Zimmer | Art of the Score

Special Event

Wednesday 8 - Saturday 11 May, 7.30pm | Perth Concert Hall

Nicholas Buc | Conductor

West Australian Symphony Orchestra respectfully acknowledges the Traditional Custodians and Elders of Country throughout Western Australia, and the Whadjuk Noongar people on whose lands we work and share music.

How to use your Digital Program

The Music of Hans Zimmer | Art of the Score

Duration: 2 hours 20 minutes (including 20 mins interval)

Act 1 (60 mins)
Sherlock Holmes: Discombobulate
Driving Miss Daisy
: Theme
Pirates of the Caribbean
: The Curse of the Black Pearl Suite
The Thin Red Line
: Journey To The Line
The Holiday
: Maestro
: Suite

Interval (20 mins)

Act 2
(60 mins)
The Lion King
: Orchestral Suite
Kung Fu Panda
: Oogway Ascends
The Da Vinci Code
: Chevaliers de Sangreal
: The Dark Knight Suite
: Symphonic Suite
: Orchestral Suite + “Now We Are Free”

Nicholas Buc
Dan Golding
Andrew Pogson
Sophie Foster

Produced in association with Concert Lab.

About the Music

Art of the Score

About the Artists

WASO Image

Nicholas Buc

Nicholas Buc is an Award-winning composer, conductor and arranger. As the recipient of the prestigious Brian May Scholarship, he completed a Masters degree in Scoring for Film and Multimedia at New York University, receiving the Elmer Bernstein Award for Film Scoring.

He recently completed work on the new Australian feature film Slant, starring Sigrid Thornton and Pia Miranda, which won Best Australian Feature at Monster Fest 2022. He also scored the Ukrainian documentary Slava, which won Best Short Film at Byron All Shorts Flickerfest 2023.

Nicholas is highly sought after as a conductor for live film concerts, having conducted the world premieres of Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, The Lion King (2019), Beauty and the Beast (2017), Shrek 2 and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2.

About the Artists

WASO Image

A/Prof. Dan Golding

Associate Professor Dan Golding is Deputy Chair of Media and Communication at Swinburne University, the host of Screen Sounds on ABC Classic, and an award-winning composer and writer.

Dan is the author of Star Wars After Lucas (University of Minnesota Press, 2019), and the co-author of Game Changers (Affirm Press, 2016). He also created the soundtrack for the BAFTA, DICE, and GDCA winning Untitled Goose Game (2019), which became the first game soundtrack in history to be nominated for an ARIA award.

Other composing includes the soundtracks for Push Me Pull You (2016) and the Frog Detective series, for which his score for The Haunted Island (2018) won the APRA-AMCOS Australian Game Developer award for Best Music. Dan recently composed the theme for the ABC’s flagship podcast, ABC News Daily. Find him on Twitter @dangolding, or online at

About the Artists

WASO Image

Andrew Pogson

Andrew Pogson is a producer, director and jazz musician who has worked in the music industry for over 20 years. He is the founder and Creative Director of Concert Lab, a concert producing and production company, and was previously the Head of Presentations at the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

He has worked with artists such as Sting, Randy Newman, Tim Minchin, Ben Folds, Joe Hisaishi and Studio Ghibli, Kate Miller-Heidke and Flight Facilities, along with creating and producing world premieres with the MSO such as The Doctor Who Symphonic Spectacular, Video Games Unplugged, Babe in Concert, Symphonica featuring Armand Van Helden, The Film Music of Nick Cave & Warren Ellis and This Gaming Life with music comedy trio Tripod (where he also hosts their podcast Perfectly Good Podcast). Find him on Twitter @JazzNerd.

About the Artists

WASO Image

Sophie Foster

Soul songstress Sophie Foster is one the most sought-after vocalist and entertainers in Perth. Graduating from the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA) in 2015 Sophie has a wealth of experience in Jazz, Soul, Contemporary and Musical Theatre. Well-regarded as one of the greatest vocalists Perth has ever seen, her unmistakable voice has been influenced heavily by all the soul greats.

Sophie has spent the last decade gracing stages across the nation. She has fronted numerous local and touring musical acts alike, including the illustrious West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Perth Symphony Orchestra, and PROOF The Band. Sophie has supported both international and national touring artists including Chris Isaak, Guy Sebastian and Casey Donavan. In 2021 Sophie was cast by Platinum Entertainment in the musical The Boy from Oz, which completed a highly successful season at Crown Theatre, selling over 15,000 tickets.

WASO on Stage

Semra Lee

Assistant Concertmaster
Alexandra Isted

Principal 1st Violin
Zak Rowntree
Principal 2nd Violin

Kylie Liang

Assoc Principal 2nd Violin
The Baker Family
Kate Sullivan
Assistant Principal 2nd Violin
Sarah Blackman
Stephanie Dean
Amy Furfaro
Rebecca Glorie
• Rosalind & Lyndsay Potts
Emma Hunt
• Ulrich &
Gloria Kunzmann
William Huxtable
Jane Johnston°
Sunmi Jung
Christina Katsimbardis
Kathryn Lee
Karen Matoba^
Andrea Mendham
• Dale & Michael Kitney
Akiko Miyazawa
Lucas O’Brien
Melanie Pearn
Louise Sandercock
Jane Serrangeli
• Philip & Frances
Chadwick and
Jim & Freda Irenic
Cerys Tooby
Teresa Vinci°
• The Baker Family

Daniel Schmitt
Alex Brogan

Nik Babic
Benjamin Caddy
Alison Hall
James Munro
Elliot O’Brien
Helen Tuckey

Rod McGrath
Isaac Davis*

Shigeru Komatsu
• Unnamed (2)
Oliver McAslan
• M & D Forrest and
Michelle Todd
Sacha McCulloch^
Nicholas Metcalfe
• The Gregg Family
Anna Sarcich^
Fotis Skordas
• Unnamed
Tim South
Emma Vanderwal^

Andrew Sinclair*
John Keene

• Janet Holmes à Court
AC & Gilbert George
Robin Brawley
Christine Reitzenstein
Mark Tooby
Giovanni Vinci

Andrew Nicholson
Mary-Anne Blades

• Unnamed

Sonia Croucher

Joshua de Graaf^

Stephanie Nicolls^

Jonathan Ryan
• Joshua & Pamela Pitt

Allan Meyer
• Leanne & Sam Walsh AO
Som Howie

Alexander Millier

Jane Kircher-Lindner
• Meg O’Neill, Chase Hayes & Vicky Hayes
Adam Mikulicz
• Meg O'Neill, Chase Hayes & Vicky Hayes

Chloe Turner
• Stelios Jewellers

★ Rod & Margaret Marston
David Evans
Eve McEwen

Robert Gladstones

Principal 3rd Horn
Julia Brooke
Francesco Lo Surdo

Jenna Smith
Acting Principal

• John & Nita Walshe
Fletcher Cox°


Joshua Davis
• Dr Glenda Campbell-
Evans & Dr Ken Evans AM
Liam O’Malley

• Dale & Greg Higham
Jeremy Alderson^

Matthew Walker^

Chloe Higgins

Alex Timcke

• Jean & Peter Stokes

Brian Maloney
François Combémorel

Assoc Principal Percussion & Timpani

Cara Daily^
Robyn Gray^
Tegan LeBrun^

Yi-Yun Loei^

Adam Pinto^

Ray Walker^


Karl Florisson^

Michael Perkins^


Associate Principal
Assistant Principal
Contract Musician°
Guest Musician^

★ Section supported through the Duet program by
• Chair supported through the Duet program by
* Instruments used by these musicians are on loan from Janet Holmes à Court AC.

About WASO

Coming Up

WASO Image